#Reverb10 – reflect on this year and manifest what’s next!

 

For the month of December, I will be participating in #reverb10: http://www.reverb10.com/

I am pledging to write every day in December inspired by the prompts given. The topics will encourage reflection on the year that’s been, and intentions for the year to come.

I invite you to reflect with me!

The prompt for December 1st:

One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell )

One word for 2010:      Deliberate

Not so much in the verb sense of long and careful consideration, but more in the adjective sense of done consciously and intentionally.

I’ve lived more deliberately this year than any other, with clearer, sometimes painful awareness of why I am the way I am. The decisions I’ve made have been less driven by haphazard emotions, and more from a foundation of self-understanding – diversifying and better delineating relationships, deciding to play music again, making a stronger commitment to spiritual practice, and believing more and more in my professional self.

One word for 2011:      Delight

While I’m glad that 2010 has been a deliberate year, all that deliberation can sure be tiring. While living with intention is great and all, it can sometimes lead to the mistaken impression that I am controlling things. I look forward to a year of finding when it’s good to be deliberate and when it’s good to just be surprised.

About madyoga

Yoga Teacher and Massage Therapist in Sacramento, CA
This entry was posted in #Reverb10 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #Reverb10 – reflect on this year and manifest what’s next!

  1. Jas... says:

    Hi Maddy!
    I’m Jas (Jeannie’s friend), we met at their anniversary!

    What a marvelous way to put it, but what’s even more intriguing is a year from now, I wonder if the word you would use to describe 2011 would be different from this one, better or worse? I love that!

    Your writing is lovely, my friend!
    Jas…

  2. emma says:

    I adore your choice for 2011! So full of light and fun and exuberance! Utterly DELIGHTful!

  3. i have got to get in on some of that “delight” – so under valued when you are so deliberate like i have been (in the on purpose way).

    2011 sounds like it will be a blast.

Leave a Reply

