How alive is this supposed to feel?

 

The prompt: (What’s this? http://www.reverb10.com)

Moment.

Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

(Author: Ali Edwards)

Last night I taught Yoga Basics, an introduction to yoga for the newbie. After a particularly intense hamstring stretch, one of my amazing students asked: “How alive is this supposed to feel?” Thank you, Basics students. Your questions always give me all the answers I need.

I gave her my teacherly answer, something about level of intensity, and discomfort versus strain and comfortable stretch. But that question is so perfect for any moment in life, it makes me want to weep.

“How alive is this moment supposed to feel?”

When I read today’s prompt, of course I began flipping through my mental catalogue, looking for a front-of-the-Titanic-arms-wide kind of moment. But frankly, I am feeling listless this morning, and when you are listless it’s hard to imagine you ever felt very alive. Just as, when you feel alive, it’s hard to imagine you will ever feel listless again.

And yet, you always do. The cycle always comes back around. The Titanic is always going to sink (sorry, it’s a rainy morning.)

So, what if my moment were right now, finding the aliveness in the listlessness? Could I sing the song of this moment? I think this one would be a country tune:

 

Beige desk, brown coffee stain

The yowl of a cat as though in pain

Sound of sigh, tick of clock

Smell of wet dog after rainy walk.

About madyoga

Yoga Teacher and Massage Therapist in Sacramento, CA
This entry was posted in #Reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How alive is this supposed to feel?

  1. bachatero80 says:

    Love this. Thank you for the permission to feel listless.

  2. janet says:

    what a perfect question! this is why beginners mind is so essential.

  3. Um, wow! That is SO going on my vision board! I am still waiting for my “arms-outstretched-front-of-the-Titanic” moment! Great post!

  4. Anna says:

    Beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

