Letting Go

The prompt: (what’s this? reverb10.com)

Let Go.

What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (Author: Alice Bradley)

Interestingly, this is the first post for which I’ve missed the “deadline”. Yep, it’s December 6th, and I’m catching up on the post for December 5th. Which is appropriate, since what I’ve let go of this last year is…

DAILY.

If a habit is good for you, it’s important to do every day, right? Yoga, meditation, eating right, 8 glasses of water, breathwork, dog walking, cardio, etc. etc. I have always accepted that if I wanted to get anywhere with this good stuff, I needed to do it every day. Only here’s the thing: I can’t. I never have. Not once. As a self-employed person, no one day looks like another. And as a Gemini, my personality, along with my ability to stay on task, is different every day. And so, with many of my practices, I’ve shifted the perspective from “daily” to…

WEEKLY.

Can’t do yoga every day? How about 4 days a week? I’d love to meditate every morning, but I always seem to accidentally sleep in one day a week, so why not call it a 6 day a week practice and relax? In this way, I’ve gone through my practices and added in some built in “failure” to my definition of “success” (air quotes intentional) Ironically, I think the result is I’m engaging in these practices more than I was before. Before I was in the “well, I’ve eaten one piece of chocolate cake so I might as well eat the whole thing” camp. Now, a piece of chocolate cake is built into the system, and is no longer cause for alarm.

About madyoga

Yoga Teacher and Massage Therapist in Sacramento, CA
This entry was posted in #Reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letting Go

  1. HollyPhoenix says:

    ah! ah! i so needed to read that. BUILD the chocolate cake into the plan. thank you, thank you….

  2. ah, yes…. moderation. i think i have heard of this concept.

    sounds like what you are really letting go of is the perfection/absolute of everyday.

    so much to learn from each other.

  3. The Spouse says:

    I am eating my “fun sized twix bars” as i read this. Cheers!

  4. blogasana says:

    the 80% rule! 🙂 love it. from ‘yoga for holiday stress’ last year… p cho’s bit about “there’s no beginning or end” (something like that) has stuck with me all year. so double thank you.

  5. theurbancowgirl says:

    What a wonderful way to look at things. I like! 🙂

  6. Pingback: MadYoga Debuts: An Interview with Madeleine Lohman « Teacher Goes Back to School

Leave a Reply

