Beauty is truth, truth beauty

The prompt:

Beautifully Different.

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

When I worked in the Personals section of a local newspaper (and that’s a subject for a whole other blog post…) it was my job to help people write descriptions of how they were beautiful and different. When people would hem and haw about saying nice things about themselves, I would often ask: “What would your friends say about you?”

In a similar vein, I present the following dialogue. In it, I play the role of “different,” while those in my life present the side of “beautiful.”

Me: “I am not a “typical” yoga teacher. I’m not slim enough, or flexible or strong enough. I’m not that Zen and ever so slightly cynical. I often feel close to the raw edge of not being “good enough” at the practice.”

My students: “But that’s what makes you approachable. That’s what makes me feel safe to come to your class even if I’m different, not the typical yoga student, if I’m out of shape, scared shitless, or in a wheelchair. I know I won’t be judged by you.”

Me: “Sometimes I let silly insecurities get the best of me. I rely a little too much on my friends to tell me I’m good enough, I’m fun enough, and they like having me around.”

My friends: “Yes, that’s true. You probably need to relax a little. Stop petting your hair. But at the same time, we can rely on you just as much. You’re trustworthy, loving, and at least you have a good sense of humor about your foibles.”

Me: “I felt like a total outcast in high school. I didn’t have a date until college.”

My Mom: “That’s why you’re kind.”

Me: “My heart is often an uncomfortable combination of hopeful and broken.”

My spouse: “How do you think our hearts recognized one another?”

 

About madyoga

Yoga Teacher and Massage Therapist in Sacramento, CA
This entry was posted in #Reverb10 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beauty is truth, truth beauty

  1. Amy says:

    This is lovely. I needed some help for mine, too.

  2. Tizz says:

    thank you for sharing this. it’s beautiful, especially the last one. you’ve inspired me to write mine and assuaged some of my angst about it.

  3. Ryan says:

    Um, okay. I’m in tears. Healing-I-may-be-different-but-I-am-not-alone tears of gratitude.

  4. Bob says:

    You are beautiful and loved.

  5. HollyPhoenix says:

    perfect. my heart stays in that perpetual fight too.
    this project just gets better and better, right?!

  6. JennaFrancisco says:

    I really loved this. The play between what you say about yourself (as we all say about ourselves) and what others say about you is wonderful. 🙂

  7. brendahaugaard says:

    You opened my heart this morning!

Leave a Reply

